University of Dubuque

UD Headline News
UD News Search
  View Archived News Articles:
Select A Year
2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003
November 08, 2007
University of Dubuque Choir and Jazz Ensemble to Tour Eastern Iowa

Members of the University of Dubuque's Concert Choir and Jazz Ensemble will perform concerts in Anamosa, Maquoketa, DeWitt, and Dyersville on a one-day tour of Eastern Iowa, Tuesday, November 20.

Performances will be held at 8:45 a.m. at Anamosa High School (209 Sadie Street, Anamosa, IA), 11:30 a.m. at Maquoketa High School (600 Washington Street, Maquoketa, IA), 1:00 p.m. at Central High School (425 East 11thStreet, DeWitt, IA), and 7:00 p.m. at the Basilica of St. Francis Xavier (114 2ndStreet SW, Dyersville, IA). The evening performance in Dyersville is free and open to the public.

The choir, under the direction of Dr. Charles Barland, will perform a variety of works including Psalm settings, Spirituals, and Folk Songs. "Performances like this are very important to the artistic progress of the choir and for the friendships made or renewed along the way," said Barland. "Each new city we visit, each school and church we sing in, every person we meet holds a special place in the hearts of our students. We look forward to sharing our music and the University with the people of Eastern Iowa." The University's jazz ensemble, under the direction of Dr. James Sherry, will perform works by Miles Davis and Charles Mingus.

The history of music at the University of Dubuque goes back to the early part of the twentieth century. As early as 1918, there was a co-ed choral music ensemble, a men's glee club, a band, and an orchestra. Beginning in the 1920s, the concert choir toured regularly. Concerts were performed in churches and schools throughout the Midwest.

Today the University of Dubuque Choir is returning to its heritage - growing in numbers and expanding its performance schedule. This year, choir events will include a joint performance with the University of Dubuque Seminary Choir at the annual Fall Convocation, Homecomingweekend performances, a fundraiser/dinner concert, UD's annual Christmas on the Quad , leading a Hymn Festival, and performing two spring concerts during the University's 2008 Arts Celebration.

Charles Barland was appointed director of the University of Dubuque Choir in August 2002 and Assistant Professor of Music at the University of Dubuque in February 2003. His duties include serving as department chair, conducting the Concert Choir; teaching courses in general music studies; serving as organist for college events and seminary worship services; and teaching applied lessons. Prior to assuming this position, Dr. Barland was an adjunct faculty member at the University of Dubuque and Loras College and was minister of music at Holy Trinity Lutheran Church in Dubuque.

A native of Eau Claire, Wisconsin, Charles Barland earned the bachelor of arts degree at Carroll College, Waukesha, Wisconsin, the master of arts degree at the University of Iowa, and the doctor of musical arts degree at the University of Kansas. He has studied organ with Phyllis Stringham, Delbert Disselhorst, James Higdon, Delores Bruch, and Michael Bauer. His choral mentors include Mark Aamot, William Hatcher, Richard Bloesch, and Simon Carrington.

James Sherry, assistant professor of fine and performing arts at the University of Dubuque, is director of the jazz and instrumental ensembles, and teaches jazz history, music appreciation, and world view seminar. In addition Dr. Sherry is the music director at Grandview United Methodist Church in Dubuque.

A native of Eureka, Illinois, James Sherry earned the bachelor of science degree at Illinois State University, the master of arts degree from Yale University School of Music, and the doctor of music appreciation at the Peabody Institute of the Johns Hopkins University. He has conducted Chicago's All-City Meritfest Band in Symphony Hall, the Bangkok Opera, Southeast Asian Youth Orchestra and Wind Ensemble, and the Baltimore School for the Arts Jazz Ensemble, as well as numerous public school music programs in Baltimore, Dubuque, and Chicago. At Johns Hopkins University he conducted the JHU Choral Society and served as director of bands for seven years. As a trumpet soloist he has performed in New York City, Boston, Philadelphia, Baltimore, Washington, DC, Chicago, Detroit, Denver and Los Angeles as well as on tours across the United States, Germany and Southeast Asia.

Members of the Choir include: Kristen Allen (Woodridge, IL), Brittney Andorf (Garrison, IA), Paul Banowetz (Grand Mound, IA), Brooke Bechen (Dodgeville, WI), Bridgett Boone (Savanna, IL), Kyle Brewer (Vinton, IA), Chris Brown (Hilliard, OH), Chris Civitate (Des Moines, IA), Caitlin Critchfield (Plymouth, MN), Elizabeth Delp (Darlington, WI), Dena Donatsch (Maquoketa, IA), Tanisha Durham (Waterloo, IA), Erika Dye (Bellevue, IA), Frances Eggers (Clinton, IA), Erica Felton (Monticello, IA), Chazse Goddard (DeWitt, IA), Ally Harris (Grayslake, IL), Sarah Hass (Pearl City, IL), Kayla Hecimovich (Madison, WI), Timothy Hillenbrand (Frankenmuth, MI), Kevin James (Monticello, IA), Sarah Kemp (St. Paul, MN), Austin Kimler (Bettendorf, IA), Nick King (Warsaw, IN), Stephanie Kruger (Welton, IA), Nate Lockwood (Homewood, IL), Duncan Marshall (La Porte City, IA), Justine May (Viola, IA), James McDonald (Charles City, IA), Morgan Meyer (Germantown, WI), Stuart Miller (Anamosa, IA), Dan Nelson (Ottowa, IL), Keigo Nishida (Zushi-shi, Japan), Jenna Olson (Maquoketa, IA), Tyler Owen (Monticello, IA), Fawn Peterson (East Dubuque, IL), Heidi Raab (Lena, IL), Christine Roller (Monticello, IA), Paige Rubel (Bellevue, IA), Sara Sadewasser (Guttenburg, IA), Allison Schnaedter (Delafield, WI), Ben Schreen (Waverly, IA), Mary Sennhenn (Cuba City, WI), Tyler Shaffer (Dubuque, IA), Mariana Stovall (Two Rivers, WI), Erin Turner (Clinton, IA),Tim Weber (Mechanicsville, IA), Lawrence White (Clinton, WI), Tim Wieneke (Dyersville, IA), and Douglas Wills (Odenton, MD).

Members of the Jazz Ensemble include: Josh Berkley (Dubuque, IA), Kevin Bradford (Des Moines, IA), Sam Cutler (Amana, IA), Erica Felton (Monticello, IA), Duncan Marshall (La Porte City, IA), Matt Meyer (Mason City, IA), Timothy Odeneye (Houston, TX), Tyler Schaffer (Dubuque, IA), Matt Szeibel (Dubuque, IA), and Erin Turner (Clinton, IA).