University Receives Scholarship Grant from the Bechtel Trust

Oct 25, 2006 | University of Dubuque Theological Seminary

For the second consecutive year, the University of Dubuque has received a $4,000 gift from the Bechtel Trusts & Foundation (Davenport, Iowa) to establish Harold R. Bechtel Scholarships for entering students from Scott County, Iowa. Funds will be awarded for the 2007-2008 academic year. 

"The University is grateful to the Bechtel Trusts for assisting in making a higher education affordable to students from Scott County," said Tim Kremer, dean of student financial planning and scholarships. "With support from organizations such as the Bechtel Trusts, students are able to realize their educational goals." 

The Bechtel Foundation was founded in 1964 by Harold R. Bechtel, Marie H. Bechtel, and R. Richard Bittner. The Bechtel Trusts became active in 1998 and are for the purpose of creating investment income to be used for charitable, scientific, literary, and educational purposes. 

"In January of 2006 the Bechtel Trusts received a report from President Bullock regarding the exciting things that are happening on campus. We know that the University of Dubuque offers a quality education to our Iowa students and makes every effort to assure that they stay in Iowa.We are pleased to be able to provide a small measure of assistance," stated R. Richard Bittner, Bechtel Trusts & Foundation Trustee. 

2006-2007 Bechtel Scholarship recipients are Amber Ewoldt (junior, computer graphics and interactive media; Bettendorf, IA), Katie Holmlund (first year, science in secondary education; Bettendorf, IA), Drew Koranda (junior, sociology & environmental science; Eldridge, IA), and Caitlin Watkins (first year, English; Park View, IA). Approximately 8-12 students from Scott County entered the University of Dubuque each year.