UD to Induct Two Individuals and Two Teams into Athletic Hall of Fame

Oct 1, 2009 | University of Dubuque Theological Seminary

On Saturday, October 18, 2009 the University of Dubuque will induct two individuals and two teams into the Athletic Hall of Fame: Scott Harris (C'84), Greta Pemsl (C'02), and the football teams from 1948 and 1979. Awards will be presented during the Alumni/ae Dinner at the Chlapaty Recreation & Wellness Center as a part of the 2009 Homecoming Celebration. 

The University of Dubuque Alumni Association established the Alumni Athletic Hall of Fame in 1989 as a permanent place to honor those individuals who have promoted and served the University through its athletic programs. The Hall of Fame recognizes former student-athletes, coaches, and supporters who have contributed to the success of the University of Dubuque both on and off the athletic field. It further promotes the University intercollegiate athletic program and creates a focal point for alumni, family, friends, and current University students, faculty, and staff.

Scott Harris (C'84) 
As a University of Dubuque Spartan, if Scott Harris (C'84) wasn't swinging a golf club, he was swinging a baseball bat. Scott has always taken his athletic career seriously, and his dedication to sports has been evident throughout his lifetime. As a Spartan, Scott shot a 66 in a golf meet against Loras, which set a new record at the University of Dubuque. He lettered all four years in golf and baseball at UD, and proved his dedication to the Spartans and his teammates through his athletic commitments. During his senior year at UD, Scott received the First Team All Conference and First Team All District and hit over 400 in conference play.

Scott's athletic career did not end upon graduation from the University of Dubuque in 1984. He has been playing semi-pro baseball for the Farley Hawks for 30 years. Within those 30 years, the Hawks have won over 60 tournaments and Scott's received 8 MVP awards. Scott coached under Dennis Rima as an assistant baseball coach at the University of Dubuque, and has coached baseball, football, and basketball over the years at Dubuque Senior, West Dubuque, and Dyersville Beckman High Schools.

Scott feels that his athletic career has helped him in many facets of his life. Aside from playing and watching sports, he enjoys spending time with his wife, Juli, and his two daughters and two sons. Scott is vice president of Harris Yamaha Golf Cars, which has won numerous Yamaha awards.

Greta Pemsl (C'02) 
Seeing Greta Pemsl (C'02) sitting down at the University of Dubuque was highly unlikely. Greta played softball for one year and was a member of the volleyball, basketball, and track teams all four years at UD. Greta's love for sports helped her become a very successful athlete and Spartan team member. She made her mark on the track by making All Conference in 2001; she was a National Qualifier and holds the UD shot put record. Greta was a leader on the basketball court, serving as captain in 2000, 2001, and 2002; she made All Conference in 2001 and 2002, All Region in 2002, and broke several records. As a Spartan volleyball player, Greta made All Conference and All Region in 1999, 2000, and 2001; she was captain in 2000 and 2001 and broke numerous University of Dubuque records. Greta continued to be a part of Spartan athletics after graduation when she served as the head women's track coach and assistant volleyball coach.

Greta is clearly a disciplined, hard working athlete whose leadership can be an inspiration to the University of Dubuque and athletes everywhere. Before coming to the University of Dubuque in 1999, Greta was a successful high school athlete, leading her high school volleyball team to a State Championship in 1997 and received many high honors in volleyball, basketball, and track.

Although Greta has set a high bar for other aspiring athletes, she has also thrived in other aspects of her life. While a student at the University of Dubuque, she made an impact on her friends, classmates, teammates, and peers, which was recognized with being elected Homecoming Queen as a senior.

Since graduation Greta has continued her education and earned her bachelor of science in nursing degree. She is currently an Emergency Department nurse in the Chicago area.

1948 Football Team 
The University of Dubuque football team capped off an undefeated season in 1948, a perfect 5-0 IIAC mark and a 7-1 overall record. The Spartans shared the IIAC title with Upper Iowa which finished with a 4-0 record after the Peacocks staunch defense allowed one lone touchdown during the conference action.

At the conclusion of the 1948 season, conference officials felt the 13 team league was too unwieldy and voted to split into a northern and southern division beginning with the 1949-50 basketball season with playoffs to determine the championships. League schools included Upper Iowa, Loras, Wartburg, Central, Parsons, Luther, Buena Vista, Iowa Wesleyan, Simpson, St. Ambrose, Westmar, William Penn, and Dubuque.

There were no All-Conference selections picked in 1948, but the Spartans' Keith Brown finished third in the league in scoring with 26 points (three touchdowns and eight extra points).

1979 Football Team 
The Spartans coach Don Birmingham parlayed a league leading defense into its first out-right football championship in 31 years. UD allowed 165.3 yards a game while posting an unblemished 7-0 record in IIAC action and a 9-1 overall record. The duo of Mike Masters and Todd Cox led the conference in scoring. Masters scored seven touchdowns for 43 points after carrying the ball 114 times for 504 yards, while teammate Cox scored seven field goals and was good on 21-23 attempts on points after touchdowns. Tim Finn rushed for 429 yards on 88 carries to help UD capture the rushing title with 1,559 yards on the ground.

UD finished the season in second place of the IIAC in total offense with a 316 yard average. The Spartans scored 200 points while holding their opponents to a dismal 49 points in league action. Quarterback Rick Steil completed 38 of 99 passes for 645 yards and five touchdowns. Dennis Limoges finished second in the IIAC in punting with 32 for 1,164 yards (36.3 average). The defense held IIAC opponents to 429 yards rushing and 726 yards passing during the 1979 season.

First Team All-Iowa Conference selections were: Rick Wallace (offensive interior lineman), Rick Steil (quarterback), Mike Masters (running back) Todd Cox (placekicker). Gene Rowell (defensive interior lineman), Bob Salinas (defensive interior lineman), Loren Dwight Peerson, Jr. (linebacker). Frank Fortini (defensive back). Second Team All-Iowa Conference were: Doug Wilson (offensive interior lineman), Joe Miller (offensive interior lineman), Curt Kain (defensive interior lineman), Steve Gangloff (linebacker), Mike Deutsch (defensive back), and Tim Twitchell (defensive back). MVP of the Iowa Conference was Rick Steil and Don Birmingham was named IIAC Coach of the Year for his efforts.

The University of Dubuque is a private, coeducational, professional university with a focus in the liberal arts. Our commitment to encouraging students to explore their fullest potential is part of a rich Christian heritage that dates back to the University's founding in 1852.