UD Announces $6 Million Investment in Academic Programs

Oct 21, 2011 | University of Dubuque Theological Seminary

University President Jeffrey F. Bullock today announced the distribution of a major investment in academic programs by University Board Chair Joseph and Linda Chlapaty.  Over $6 million in funding, a gift from the Chlapatys, will be used to support the establishment of endowed academic chairs for the undergraduate college in chemistry, mathematics, economics, and for the seminary in church renewal.  A summer research fellowship in science and mathematics has also been created in the undergraduate college.

President Bullock together with Mark Ward, vice president and dean of the college, and Bradley Longfield, vice president and dean of the seminary, will join Joseph and Linda Chlapaty for a public announcement on Monday, October 24, 2011 at 4:00 p.m. in Steffens Hall of the Charles and Romona Myers Center on the University campus.

"All of us on this campus continue to be encouraged, energized, and amazed at the dedication, commitment, and financial support that Joe and Linda Chlapaty have provided for the University of Dubuque," stated President Bullock.  "From one of the darkest hours in the University's history through the University's growth and development over the past thirteen years, Joe and Linda have never wavered in their passion for our students, faculty, and staff, and for this wonderful place.

The naming of these endowed chairs honors teachers from the University's history who have made a real difference in the lives of the students whom they taught - inspiring students to believe in themselves and challenging them to consider how they, too,  might be of service to their church and the world. Teachers and students are gifts to one another; Joe and Linda Chlapaty are gifts to us all."

Three endowed chairs will undergird the transforming work of the undergraduate college:

The Dorothy Taylor Chair in Chemistry recognizes the importance of chemistry in the undergraduate learning experience and promotes the vibrant and rigorous study of chemistry.  Dorothy Taylor taught chemistry at UD for 35 years, was awarded four National Science Foundation grants during her tenure, and was named professor emerita upon her retirement in 1977.

The Hazel Rothlisberger Chair in Mathematics acknowledges the significance of the study of mathematics and the development of competencies across a range of aspects in this field which is a keystone of excellence across various disciplines.  Hazel Rothlisberger taught mathematics at UD for 33 years, helped train Naval officer candidates during World War II V-12 program on campus, was awarded a National Science Foundation Fellowship in mathematics at Iowa State University, and was named professor emerita in 1976 and continued teaching undergraduates.

The Ruben Austin Chair in Economics recognizes the consequence of developing an understanding of how societies distribute and produce goods and services, as well as a consideration of the political and ethical values that guide social and individual choice.  Ruben Austin taught economics at UD for 14 years at three different periods in his career, was known as a dynamic, interesting, and witty lecturer who inspired all those who came in contact with him, was named professor emeritus in 1986 and continued teaching undergraduates.

One endowed chair will strengthen the influence of the seminary in the wider church:

The Joseph and Linda Chlapaty Research Chair in Church Renewal affirms the importance of scholarly research in the theological disciplines and values the leadership of the University of Dubuque Theological Seminary in teaching and publication that contributes to the renewal of the church in the United States and abroad.

Additionally, The Joseph and Linda Chlapaty Summer Research Fellowship has been established.  The fellowship is open to rising sophomores and rising juniors who are majoring in the sciences and mathematics.  This competitive program will provide students an opportunity to demonstrate strength in independent scientific research, to participate in directed preparation for graduate school entrance examinations (e.g. MCAT, GRE), and to develop a network of professional relationships with graduate schools and science professionals in the region.

The Monday, October 24 announcement at 4:00 p.m. in Steffens Hall (Myers Center) is open to the public, and refreshments will be served.